Author Topic: I'm a PC noob about to attempt building my first PC... HALP!  (Read 4727 times)

Offline NovaAurora

• Jovial Jaguar
  • awards This user has been a forum member for over 10 years This user has donated to the forum. This user has donated more than $50 to the forum.
  • May the FURS be with you!
    • Awards
  • Species: Mostly wolf, part dragon
  • Coloring: Dark and light gray, with black streaks and dark blue extremities.
  • Height: 6'2"
  • Weight: 200 lbs
  • Build: Long and lanky, muscular but not bulging.
  • Currently: PC gaming... FINALLY!!
I'm a PC noob about to attempt building my first PC... HALP!
« on: October 15, 2013, 06:31:03 PM »
So as several of you may already know, I haven't had an actual PC for about 7 years now and have only used Apple computers in that time. But for several reasons, I now wish to build myself a legitimate high-end gaming PC and I desperately need help and advice. I know very little computer terminology to begin with, much less what each individual component does, so I have no way to really compare specs of different parts because I don't know what's good and what's not.

Since I'm not expecting a full on explanation for everything (though any knowledge you can impart would of course be great,) what I'm looking for here is primarily advice on where to start. How do I learn all the things I need to learn, and moreover what is most important for me to know/consider when building it? I can afford to spend a decent amount of money on this, but at what point might I just me throwing hundreds of extra dollars at it for only a slight performance increase? Any opinions on where to buy the different components? What about compatibility, surely not all parts work with each other so how do I know what WILL work ahead of time so I can plan out my purchase? So many things I know nothing about...