The Furry Forums would like to place cookies on your computer to help us make this website better. To find out more about the cookies, see our privacy notice.
To accept the cookie click here, or please login or register.

Author Topic: Hi New here  (Read 1049 times)

Offline Parsifal23

• Vibrating Furby
  • awards This user has been a forum member for over 10 years
    • Awards
  • Species: Wolverine
  • Coloring: chocolate brown with white chest stripe
  • Height: 6"3'
  • Weight: 220
  • Build: heavy set and musculer
Hi New here
« on: May 22, 2009, 02:26:18 PM »
Hi, Name's Aaron I am 23 I live in Holland Michigan the Wolverine state ironically considering the fact that my Fursonia is a Wolverine. I am completely new to this whole community of Furry Fandom. Prior to finding this forum the only I information I had on The Furry Community was grossly exaggerated stereotypes usually made to mock Furries off of websites like Something Awful or Encyclopedia Dramatica. Or sensationalist or exploitive documentaries on Cable T.V. that either focused on the most extreme cases. Such as people who literally thought of themselves as animals trapped in a human’s body or tried to paint it as some sort of fetish or sexual perversion only. That was until I stumbled across and article online by L.J. Williamson that had appeared in The L.A. Alternative Press called My Life As A Furry which portrayed the community in an even handed if not down right sympathetic light. I then discovered The WikiFur and this brings me to the point where I started to create my Fursona in the article Williamson wrote that and I quote. “Rarely is anyone’s totem or “Personal Furry” anything that humans regard as unattractive. Foxes, wolves, cats and tigers greatly outnumber weasels, sloths, and baboons.” Which got me thinking what about the Weasel? Because in most books Weasels are portrayed as thugs as in The Wind and The Willows or cold blooded assassins as in Redwall with the character of Ferahgo the As